Sabrina Ma & Seyko Itoh

7 pm
Center for World Music, Hildesheim
Photo: Eri Mantani

GaGo­GiG com­pri­ses of drum­mer Sa­brina Ma and composer/pianist Seyko Itoh. They for­med their group in 2021 with the goal of pro­du­cing beau­tiful, sassy, and classy mu­sic for their lin­eup. At the Über­schlag Fes­ti­val, they will pre­sent a world pre­miere, two ar­ran­ge­ments, and two all-time fa­vo­ri­tes from the per­cus­sion repertoire.

Sa­brina Ma was born in the UK in 1985 and has li­ved in Ber­lin since 2007. She re­cei­ved her trai­ning in the USA and Ger­many. She was awarded the prize of the Ger­man Mu­sic Com­pe­ti­tion, among others. She works in­ter­di­sci­pli­nary in the fields of new mu­sic and mu­sic theatre and she is a mem­ber of MAM.manufaktur für ak­tu­elle mu­sik (Berlin/Cologne) and El Perro An­da­luz (Dres­den).

The com­po­ser and pia­nist Seyko Itoh stu­died com­po­si­tion at the To­kyo Uni­ver­sity of Fine Arts and Mu­sic and fur­ther at the Hoch­schule für Mu­sik Hanns Eis­ler Ber­lin. She was a scho­lar­ship-hol­der of the in­ter­na­tio­nal En­sem­ble Mo­dern Aka­de­mie Frank­furt in 2007/2008, as well as the Aka­de­mie der Künste in Ber­lin. She was the win­ner of the 2012 Hanns Eis­ler Com­po­si­tion Prize as well as the first in­ter­pre­tive prize as a pia­nist at the 2013 Hanns Eis­ler Com­po­sers Forum.


Sa­brina Ma per­cus­sion

Seyko Itoh piano and composition



Cen­ter for World Music

Ti­mo­theuspl. 1, 31141 Hildesheim