The ruins of the Aegidienchurch provide the backdrop for a very special experience during the Überschlag Festival: a nightly live performance with Raphael Sbrzesny.
The Aegidienchurch is located in the centre of Hanover.
The church ruins can be entered via the main entrance as well as via side entrances. All entrances are barrier-free.
The location does not have its own sanitary facilities.
Inside at night
The Aegidienchurch, built in the 14th century, is the easternmost of the three churches in the old town. .
It was largely destroyed in the Second World War and not rebuilt.
Its ruins have been a memorial since 1954, a church of remembrance of the Second World War and a church of the wish for peace.
The church is completely barrier-free. Unfortunately, there are no sanitary facilities in the location.
How to get there
- Lines 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 8, or 11 stop “Aegidientorplatz“
Lines 3,7 or 9 stop “Markthalle / Landtag”
- Lines 120, 200 or 800 stop “Rathaus / Friedrichswall”
Follow the signs for Aegidientorplatz and from Friedrichswall turn into Ebhardtstraße. At the end of the street, turn left onto Marktstraße. 100 metres further on, on the left-hand side, you will find a car park (for a fee). Car park: Osterstraße, approx. 100 m walk from the Aegidienkirche.
Hanover’s main railway station is a ten-minute walk away.